MY BUTTON
The philosophy of BandaSEA eV. is to sustainably create coexistence between humans and the sea
About us

BandaSEA eV is a non-profit association based in Bonn. Our goal is to protect the underwater world of the Banda Sea in Indonesia by working with the local population of the Banda Islands to find solutions to problems such as plastic waste and overfishing. We are firmly convinced that marine protection projects can only be sustainable if they are carried out not only with but by the local population. Therefore, we rely on listening, joint concept development, intensive support during the project implementation and joint planning of financial independence for the continuation of the projects. This is possible because two of our founding members live on the Banda Islands.

Projects

Since 2012 we have been concentrating on projects on the Banda Islands. These are located in the middle of the Banda Sea in the Moluccas Province in Indonesia. Since there are extremely species-rich coral reefs that are worth protecting, as well as a population that moves with them, we consider this place to be an absolute priority when it comes to sustainable marine protection. 

So far we have 1) set up a local garbage disposal, 2) initiated an environmental education center for children, 3 ) helped with the zoning of a marine protection zone, 4) converted primary schools into single-use plastic-free schools, 5) set up an upcycling project for housewives, 6) us for shark protection, 7) built a recycling hall in which plastic is sorted, shredded and processed into gasoline and diesel by means of pyrolysis, and 8) created Indonesia's first floating island garbage disposal

Donate

As a non-profit organization, we are dependent on donations and membership fees so that we can continue to carry out sustainable projects on the Banda Islands. We attach great importance to the fact that donations are only used for the projects described on this website and that

Funds are used efficiently. We are proud that the administrative costs (bank fees, website and notarial costs) averaged just 3.6% in 2019 and 2020. 

In this way we can achieve a lot with relatively little resources (see projects ).

Donations of any amount are very welcome, they will definitely reach their destination and are tax deductible. 

Get active

During our time on the Banda Islands we were able to impart a lot of knowledge, but we were also able to take with us a lot of experiences and values from another culture. Cultural exchange and learning from one another are increasingly important aspects on the way to sustainability in a networked world. We are therefore very happy if you or you would like to actively support us on site. We can always use help, especially in environmental education. Knowledge of Indonesian is an advantage but not a requirement. Communication works very well, especially with children, even with a little bit of English, hands and feet. To contact Feel free to contact us if you would like to help.

MY BUTTON
Die Philosophie von BandaSEA e.V. ist es, ein nachhaltiges 
Zusammenleben von Mensch und Meer zu schaffen
Über uns

BandaSEA e.V. ist ein gemeinnütziger Verein mit Sitz in Bonn. Unser Ziel ist es, die Unterwasserwelt der in Indonesien gelegenen Bandasee zu schützen, indem wir gemeinsam mit der lokalen Bevölkerung der Banda-Inseln Lösungen für Probleme wie Plastikmüll und Überfischung finden. Wir sind fest davon überzeugt, dass Meeresschutz-Projekte nur nachhaltig sein können, wenn sie nicht nur mit, sondern von der lokalen Bevölkerung aus durchgeführt werden. Daher setzen wir auf Zuhören, gemeinsame Konzept-entwicklung, intensive Betreuung während der Projektdurchführung und gemeinsame Planung der finanziellen Unabhängigkeit zur Weiterführung der Projekte. Dies ist dadurch möglich, dass zwei unserer Gründungsmitglieder auf den Banda-Inseln leben.

Projekte

Seit 2012 konzentrieren wir uns auf Projekte auf den Banda-Inseln. Diese liegen mitten in der Bandasee in der Provinz Molukken in Indonesien. Da es dort sowohl extrem artenreiche und schützenswerte Korallenriffe gibt als auch eine Bevölkerung, die mitzieht, halten wir diesen Ort für absolut prioritär, was nachhaltigen Meeresschutz betrifft. 

So haben wir bisher 1) eine lokale Müllabfuhr aufgebaut, 2) ein Umweltbildungszentrum für Kinder initiiert, 3) bei der Zonierung einer Meeresschutz-zone geholfen, 4) Grundschulen in einwegplastikfreie Schulen verwandelt, 5) ein Upcycling-Projekt für Hausfrauen aufgebaut, 6) uns für Haischutz eingesetzt, 7) eine Recyclinghalle errichtet, in der Plastik sortiert, geschreddert und mittels Pyrolyse zu Benzin und Diesel verarbeitet wird, und 8) die erste schwimmende Insel-Müllabfuhr Indonesiens erschaffen

Spenden

Damit wir weiterhin nachhaltige Projekte auf den Banda-Inseln durchführen können, sind wir als gemeinnütziger Verein auf Spenden und Mitgliedbeiträge angewiesen. Wir legen besonders viel Wert darauf, dass Spenden ausschließlich für die auf dieser Internetseite beschriebenen Projekte verwendet werden und dass

Mittel effizient eingesetzt werden. Wir sind stolz darauf, dass der Verwaltungsaufwand (Bankgebühren, Internetauftritt und notarielle Kosten) 2019 und 2020 im Mittel bei nur 3,6% lag. 

Auf diese Art und Weise können wir auch mit relativ geringen Mitteln sehr viel erreichen (siehe Projekte).

Spenden in jeder Höhe sind herzlich willkommen, erreichen auf jeden Fall ihr Ziel und sind steuerlich absetzbar. 

Aktiv werden

Während unserer Zeit auf den Banda-Inseln konnten wir viel Wissen vermitteln, genauso konnten wir aber auch viele Erfahrungen und Werte aus einer anderen Kultur mitnehmen. Der kulturelle Austausch und das voneinander Lernen sind auf dem Weg zur Nachhaltigkeit immer wichtiger werdende Aspekte in einer vernetzten Welt. Daher freuen wir uns sehr, wenn auch du oder Sie uns aktiv vor Ort unterstützen möchten. Besonders in der Umweltbildungsarbeit können wir immer Hilfe gebrauchen. Indonesisch-Kenntnisse sind zwar von Vorteil, aber keine Voraussetzung. Besonders mit Kindern funktioniert die Verständigung auch mit ein bisschen Englisch, Händen und Füßen sehr gut. Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne, wenn Sie mithelfen möchten.